English Section

IOS Security Basics

 

▌▌Basics of protection in IOS system  ▌▌

IOS is one of the most popular operating systems in the world after Android system. Apple recently added many security features and services to protect users’ data from hackers and intelligence attacks. But when it comes to US national security, Apple can not do but providing help to the intelligence agencies to track The jihadists and their supporters on the Internet, as happened with brother Sayed Farouk (may Allah accept him) the brother of San Bernardino operation, California, where Apple shared all the data of his device on the servers of the company with the FBI, so these are some of the basics of protection to Limit data sharing with Apple Although we do not recommend buying Apple products from the US, we recommend purchasing Nexus devices supported by the Cooperhead OS.

     Face ID   

Face recognition is a new technology added by Apple in the latest version of the IOS system where the phone can recognize the face of the user and use the fingerprint to unlock the device, but if the fingerprint is synchronized with Apple servers or your device has been hacked, that will reveal your identity so we advise to avoid using this feature as it is a threat to your privacy in this case.

To disable the Face Detection feature, go to Settings, Face ID & Password.

 

     Update system and applications    

Software updates play a very important role to avoid the inconvenience of system users. The purpose is to push repairs to security problems in the operating system and create a secure system environment. When surfing the Internet, your system is at the mercy of your security procedures. Viruses, malwares and rootkits are always look for security gaps to use it to access your personal data, that’s why users must always install system updates to receive security repairs.

– Activate the AutoUpdate option by going to the App Store

– iTunes Store in settings and activating Updates.

 

       Passwords

Choose a password composed of numbers, letters and symbols as users often use a password composed of 4 numbers for easy use, but in fact it contains 10,000 combinations only, that the hack to the device can be easy. If you want to protect yourself, use numbers, letters and symbols to make it difficult to guess by the DICTIONARY ATTACK, but if you have to use the numbers, at least use the 6 numbers not the four numbers.

– Go to Settings, then Touch ID & Passcode.

– You will need to enter your current password.

– Set Required Access Passcode to Immediately.

– Then click Change Passcode.

– Enter the old passcode.

– Then click the Passcode Options and choose Custom Alphanumeric Code.

 

– Also disable alerts and messages on the lock screen by selecting options that allow access when locked.

– Enable data wipe after 10 failed access code attempts by choosing Erase Data and click enable.

 

      Maps and location services     

 

Disable Maps by going to Settings, Maps. Be sure to disable all permissions. disable the site’s services by going to Privacy.

 

 

 

 

 

– Location Services.

– Make sure that the Location Services is closed.

 

      Go to Safari Browser :

– Go to Safari Browser.

– Disable the Always visited sites option, Also select the default search engine (Duck Duck GO)

– Be sure to activate:

 

Prevent tracking while browsing websites

Block all cookies

Ask websites not to follow me

Fraud site warning

– Disable the option

Access to camera and microphone

Check Apple Pay

 

Then press AutoFill.

– Besides storing your passwords, your iPhone can store your personal information for automatic filling. This feature makes it easy to fill out forms online or in applications. You can automatically enter information from your iPhone device such as your name, address, phone number, credit card number, and more, so be sure to disable the options shown in the following image.

 

      Safe and hidden browsing :    

 

It is best to use Safari’s private browsing feature, which does not store any information of your data and the pages you visit, and the browser color will turn black during use.

 

– Go to Safari

 

 

– Click on the icon indicated below

– Press Private

– Click on the + icon to open a web page and browse in safe and hidden mode

– If you want to go back to the general mode click Done and it will switch to the general browser

     Accounts and passwords  :

 

Your passwords are grouped into password manager to make entering passwords easier and safer. These passwords are protected by your touch ID or your iPhone’s passcode; however, if your iPhone is hacked, the attacker can access all of your passwords.

 – To delete saved passwords, go to Settings, Accounts & Passwords

 

– Enter the passcode or use the touch ID to view saved passwords

– To delete individual passwords, swipe to the right on each password, then click Delete. To delete collectively, click Edit in the top right corner, then select each password you want to delete. Finally, click Delete in the top right corner.

 

 

     Prevent sending your data and use of apps to Apple  :  

. Go to Privacy

– Then Analytics

 

– Uncheck these options

– Apple can track your location to provide notifications and ads in your browser, to disable it. Go to Privacy and choose Advertising

– Enable the Limit Ad Tracking option

Note?:

When this option is enabled, Apple will share your data and identity.

 

     Application permissions:

 

Any application that you download to your computer requires certain permissions to function correctly, but there are permissions that violate the privacy of users, for example, location rights, access to the microphone, camera, and synchronization of accounts and contacts. Some applications use this sensitive information for advertising purposes. You can learn how to control application permissions and prevent them from accessing your personal information and maintaining your privacy.

– Block applications from accessing your camera – microphone – contacts – photos through settings and privacy. For example, when an application is denied access to the microphone, go to Privacy then Microphone as in the following picture.

 

       Recently deleted photos:  

Apple saves deleted images in a folder called “ recently deleted” for 30 days before the images actually gets deleted. If someone can access your phone, they can access any photos that were deleted within 30 days of that time.

 

– Delete the images in the “recently deleted” folder

 

    Do not synchronize the iCloud :

Be sure to stop the iCloud Drive

 

     Delete data and reformat the system  :    

-To delete and reformat device data, go to General

– Choose Reset

– Select Clear All Content and Settings

      Automatic network access :

Disable the Ask to Join Networks option by going to Wi-Fi your device may be connected without your knowledge to a network and you will be hacked.

❊❊❊❊❊❊

 

اترك تعليقاً

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني.

*

code